PDA

View Full Version : grip question

dmgwalsh
11-24-2004, 04:21 AM
I'm working on a lighter grip, thumb and first two fingers mainly, and trying to add a loose wrist action to my stroke. For those of you who do anything similar, do you keep the action light throughout the stroke? I noticed I was inadvertantly squeezing firmly right at the impact. Now I am trying to keep it loose at impact. Anybody do either? with what results? /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif

RUNaRAK
11-24-2004, 05:53 AM
Dennis,
I think that you will get a variety of responses to this post but here is what works for me.
I have been playing for nearly 20 years and had always gripped the cue with most of my hand and all fingers touching the cue, but I did not think that I was really squeezing the cue. It worked fairly well except when I had alot riding on a match or game and I always wondered why I was loosing my stroke. I did not feel pressure but my stroke would seriously struggle.
Recently I made an adjustment to my grip and my game has become much more consistent and my shots are more accurate.

I played fine before but lacked the consistency that I wanted.

I now grip with the thumb and first two fingers, hold the cue rather ligthly and don't worry too much about my wrist, I let it do what is natural with no tension. This has done a lot for my game and I hope that you find something that works for you as well.

Best of luck and Happy Thanksgiving /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Joe

Barbara
11-24-2004, 07:10 AM