PDA

View Full Version : Frustration

onepocketfanatic
11-26-2004, 01:53 AM
All of a sudden one day last week I started playing really bad. It was as if someone turned off the "good pool shooting" switch and turned on the "chump pool shooter" switch.
At first I just chalked it up to a "bad day", but it turned into a week long "slump" (with the exception of some flashes of my old self). Mentally by the end of the week my mental pool outlook was fubar (f...ed up beyond all recognition). I learned long ago to try my best to keep my mental picture positive (and not get into that frame of mind that "I'm shooting bad"), but it was just not happening by the end of the week.
By the end of the week I became so frustrated that it was showing outwardly (usually I am pretty calm on the outside and inside..even when losing). I was not just losing, I was literally giving games away with my extremely poor execution,which led to anger and frustration. Even the guy that I was playing (we compete all the time) made comments about my "generosity" and how very uncharcteristic it was of me..
Does anyone have a suggestion or two as to the answer or remedy to my sorry state of pool shooting? The only thing I know is to "play though" the slump. I have continued to take the right shot, and play the correct safe even though my execution has been anything but good.I know what to do, and how to play the game, but to put it plainly my execution has been stinking up the hall for the last week. Any help, past experiences, or suggestions would be appreciated.

1Time
11-26-2004, 03:25 AM
I've noticed throughout the years when I've slumped it was when I was playing a lot and trying hard to play well or to better my game. And although this of course helped me play better, when I slumped I found it best to then take a break from pool.