View Full Version : Break Question
12-03-2004, 10:06 PM
Many years ago (probably 8-10) I was in an 8 ball tournament and witnessed a guy break by putting the cue about 3 inches off the side rail, like to aim at the second ball. He shot into the rail just beyond the head string, cue into the rack, and sank the 8, like it had eyes 3 racks in a row. Is this legal to hit a rail prior to hitting the rack and has anyone ever seen a break like this? I believe if 4 balls hit a rail it is a legal break. Thanks to all!
12-04-2004, 12:29 AM
There was one player locally who used to use this break regularly; used to get a good spread and make a ball most times. When he started to play APA league, someone pointed out that APA rules say "the cue ball may not be shot into a rail before striking the rack," and he switched to a more conventional center break.
Walt in VA
12-05-2004, 11:26 AM
Sinking the 8-ball on the break does not result in victory under all rules. For example, see item 7 in the BCA World Standardized Rules Summary (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/pool/rules_summary.pdf).
PS: You might also find video clips HSV 7.8 - 7.11 (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/pool/high_speed_videos/index.html) interesting.
12-05-2004, 11:50 AM
I have seen guys break hitting rail first but don't know of any advantage to it. You can hit the second ball and move the 8-ball a little extra but you also lose some of the force needed to break the rack. All in all a conventional break is best. I am not really sure if there are any rules against kicking though if someone wants to.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2015 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.