PDA

View Full Version : Pool Table Disassembly.

Stretch
12-10-2004, 01:09 PM
Hi all! Pops wanted to buy a second hand pool table and asked me to look around for something. Well i found it! Done deal....now i gotta move it. /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif

It's a beauty little 4x8 Canada billiard and Bowling Aniversary Eddition. 3 piece slate one and a half in. thick, brand new cloth..... Sweet /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I'm getting a good table mechanic to set it up of course, but not till spring. I just gotta tear it down and move it for now......i've never done it before. I know it's a two man job, preferably more lol. but i was just wondering. Can any of you experienced people give me a general step by step how-to of it. It's amazing all these years of playing on them, and i don't know a whole lot about it.

I want to save the cloth if i can even if it means pulling a million stapes, and i know where the rail bolts and pocket bolts are. Outside of that...not much. Is it that tuff a job?? St.

SPetty
12-10-2004, 01:44 PM
Actually, it's not really too tough to disassemble a table. I've participated in disassembling at least five different times.

You might want to have a "bolt bucket" handy...

Remove the rails from the table. Sometimes you've got to figure out how to take them apart at the corners and pockets, but depending on what you're doing and who's helping, you can sometimes just take off the whole square rail assembly and transport it that way.

Remove the cloth from the table. On the table you describe, it's probably a bunch of staples. It's possible that they've used some adhesive around the edges - if so, tug gently...

Remove the slate from the frame. There will be bolts that go through the slate into the frame. Remove these and the slate should come right off.

That leaves the frame. You should now be able to see enough of it to tell how to take it apart enough to move it.