PDA

View Full Version : Can't break em hard anymore

johnnyt
12-15-2004, 01:24 PM
I would be interested in what you all thought about 1-pocket for a old guy that can't power break in 9-ball anymore. I have been playing pool for 57 years. 14.1 would work for me but no one plays it around here. Thank you.
Johnnyt

bsmutz
12-15-2004, 02:00 PM
I'd say go for it if you can find other players. Practice your banks down on the bottom rail if you're not real comfortable with them. Snooker and golf are good games also. I know a bunch of old timers in this area hang out together playing golf on the snooker table all day. It's a nice easy paced game that requires a good stroke and a good eye. I'd also work on finding a spot to break 9-ball from where you don't need a lot of power. You don't have to slam the rack to make balls. I've been practicing making the one in the side on the break and find that it's more of a finesse type of deal than a hit 'em as hard as you can thing. I wouldn't be adverse to trying to get the "youngsters" to play straight pool either. Sometimes all it takes is someone taking the time to explain the game and show how much fun it can be. I've made some snooker converts this way. Good luck and good shooting!

DavidMorris
12-15-2004, 02:42 PM