PDA

View Full Version : HELP ME TO PUT ON LAYERED TIPS

BLACKHEART
05-27-2002, 08:50 PM
As you regulars know, I have been doing repairs since 1985 or so. I do 1500 - 2000 repairs a year. So, with all of this knowledge, from all of these years, why can't I put on a TALISMAN tip & shape it without the top layers coming apart. I tryed 3 times today to install a Talisman soft tip & each time ,when shaping, the tip comes apart. I finally gave up & put on a TIGER soft tip & had not problem the 1st time out. If there is a secret, maybe someone could share it with me. THANKS...JER

05-27-2002, 08:59 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote: BLACKHEART:</font><hr> I tryed 3 times today to install a Talisman soft tip &amp; each time ,when shaping, the tip comes apart. I finally gave up &amp; put on a TIGER soft tip &amp; had not problem the 1st time out. If there is a secret, maybe someone could share it with me. THANKS...JER <hr></blockquote>

i finally went to pre-rounded tips after my cue dr. kept running into the same problem. i suspected her blade on the lathe-cutter wasn't sharp but i'm not sure. i'm also not sure how much it matters since i went to the talisman site and found that tony is suggesting taking off the top few layers anyway to prevent the tip from separating due to the high touque of extreme english.

dan

05-27-2002, 09:08 PM
MOORI MOORI MOORI

BLACKHEART
05-27-2002, 10:53 PM
Come on people. All I ever hear on this board is how great these layered tips are. Now is the time to prove it. All I want to know is HOW DO I KEEP THEM FROM FALLING APART? I put on 16 tips this weekend only the Talisman tips fell apart....WHY...What am I doing wrong????????...JER

Troy
05-27-2002, 10:54 PM
Jer... I too had delamination trouble when I first did laminated tips, be it a Talisman, Moori, Tiger/Everest, etc.

Two things I learned through trial &amp; error --
1. After burnishing, I let the tip "re-cure" for about an hour to allow the layer adhesive to re-set.