PDA

View Full Version : Does anybody here....

wolfdancer
01-27-2005, 04:53 PM
actually play pool?

SecaucusFats
01-27-2005, 06:11 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote wolfdancer:</font><hr> actually play pool? <hr /></blockquote>

I practice about 10 hrs a week and I play on Tuesday nights with an APA team (in-house division) at an area Pool Hall. I also play Saturday nights in a weekly bar-box 9 Ball Tournament (placed 1st 6 times in 6 months). I also play another 8-10 hours a week split between the 9 ft tables and the bar table playing with friends. My favorite games are 9 Ball, 8 Ball, and Straight.

My dad once owned a bar and I started playing on the bar table at the age of 12. I played there and in a pool hall quite often until I graduated from High School and went into the Marines. I stopped playing for years, and then began playing regularly again about 14 years ago.

I'm no world-beater but I can definitely hold my own and I am not afraid to play anyone. Chances are quite good that if I get a good break, or my opponent misses, and the table is run-able, I will run out. My straight pool game is a little weak, mostly cause I have a hard time finding someone who knows, and wants, to play the game. I do manage to get a game of straight to 150 about once a month. My high run in straight is 50.

Currently I have six shooting cues, one break/jump, one break cue, and one jump cue. I have two leather Instroke cases and one Porper. I also have a huge collection of instructional videos and DVD's and 55 books on pool.

So yeah, I plays a little. /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

SF

wolfdancer
01-27-2005, 06:39 PM
Maybe we should abandon all this politics, and get back to pool.
I just can't set up the break shot, in straight pool, and never get past the second rack...so I'm in awe of a run of 50.
I've been to Cuba, just before Castro overthrew Batista.