PDA

View Full Version : Help from "Hitting the Wall"?

mksmith713
01-29-2005, 05:21 AM
I've been playing for roughly 1 1/2 years.
I started learning the basics and gradually moved on.
First with simple geometry of shot making, the physics of shot making.
I can work my way around a table OK.
Running a full 9-Ball rack 1 out of 5 tries.
My problem is, my game seems to have gone stagnant.
I seem to always try to find the hardest way to make the easiest shot, thus causing me to miss shots that should be gimme's.
I worry too much about shape, trying to get perfect on my next shot.
Another problem I have is that I know of no really good players in my area that are personable enough to learn from.
Back, when I left the Professional Bowlers Tour (Early 80's), I took time to help anyone who was willing to learn.
I really enjoyed watching players get better.
It didn't matter who it was. If they wanted to learn, I'd help them.

Is this common among new players?

If so, can someone give me a kick in the butt and tell me how to stop thinking so much?

I'm tired of playing poorly.

christopheradams
01-29-2005, 06:08 AM