PDA

View Full Version : Tip and hardness recommendation for Novice

olgoat
02-02-2005, 03:30 PM
All
I am a novice player shooting a McDermott 19oz cue. I would like to upgrade the tip but am unclear about what hardness would be the best to consider. I am not using any english at this point. Just trying to get my cut shots down.

I am looking at adding a dedicated break cue so my shooting cue would not have to do double duty.

Any suggestions on brand and hardness would be much appreciated.

Talisman (soft or Med)?
Moori (soft or Med)?
Sumo ?
Others ?

Thanks
Tim

poolturtle
02-02-2005, 03:38 PM
I don't know anything about tips, except I personally prefer a harder tip. As far as breaking with your playing cue, I would recommend using a house cue or anything else besides your good playing cue. I've warped more than a few inexpensive sticks breaking with them. /ccboard/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

SpiderMan
02-02-2005, 04:29 PM
Unless you have an established preference for softer tips, I doubt you will find one that plays better than a Triangle. A Moori may last longer, and may require less-frequent reshaping, but I don't think it will play any better.

Try a Triangle, don't trim it too short, and see what you think.

SpiderMan

Troy
02-03-2005, 08:01 AM
I would go with a Medium hardness tip. Talisman and Moori are both good tips but relatively expensive. A Le Pro or Triangle would be a good start point for determining what you like.
The main reason for a different cue for breaking is tip hardness and shape -- a break cue has a harder tip with a flat shape. No damage should occur to the cue during breaking.

Troy
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote olgoat:</font><hr> All
I am a novice player shooting a McDermott 19oz cue. I would like to upgrade the tip but am unclear about what hardness would be the best to consider. I am not using any english at this point. Just trying to get my cut shots down.