PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain this?

Toddo26
02-10-2005, 12:52 PM
I've been playing bar tables for over 20 years, and I've recently started playing in a pool hall on 8 and 9 ft tables. I have noticed 3 major differences, 2 of which I cannot explain. 1.CUEBALL CURVE - On bar tables I can get much more curve with the cueball. I am pretty accurate when having to curve the cueball slightly on a bar table. I am struggling with this on the larger tables. 2.SPIN INDUCED THROW- I've noticed I cannot "throw" the object balls nearly as much on the larger tables. 3.DRAW- The draw is unbelievable on the bigger tables compared to the P.O.S. bar tables I play on.
I realize that the cueball is larger on the bar tables, and the felt is probably better on the quality tables. That explains the difference in draw. But I cannot explain the cueball curve and the S.I.T. Can someone explain this?

bsmutz
02-10-2005, 12:57 PM
This is also due to the heavier/larger cue ball on the bar table. Try moving your cue tip out a little farther than you are used to. A heavier cue ball will shove the object ball farther on a throw shot. Also it will curve better.

highsea
02-10-2005, 12:59 PM
A lot of barboxes have pretty beat-up balls. Lots of throw and curve, because the surfaces are so rough. Go from a cheap set of balls to a nice set of centennials, and you can't near as much throw from the OB.

BTW, most of the bar tables around my neck of the woods don't use oversize CB's anymore. They are pretty much all magnetic valleys. I won't play with an oversize CB. Hate'em.

Perk
02-10-2005, 01:07 PM
I would think HighSea hit it on the nail. Most places/bars have a beat up set of balls to go along with a perfectly nice cueball. /ccboard/images/graemlins/wink.gif

poolturtle
02-10-2005, 01:46 PM