PDA

View Full Version : First 8 and out!!!

cheese_ball
02-24-2005, 09:18 AM
Hey all! I had my very first 8 and out last night! I've been struggling to learn all of the multi-rail kicks, banks and position for the last 6 months, and it's finally paid off! I am new to one-pocket, but it has drastically improved my other games... I've run a few consecutive racks in most games, but I've noticed my position play in 9-ball and my strategy in 8-ball and 14.1 getting MUCH better! I strongly reccomend the game to anyone with a "chess-head" on them. Are there any other chess players out there?

By the way, my 8 and out was against one of Chicago's best one-pocket players, not a slug. He was as shocked at my performance as I was! After another 2-3 matches of getting my a%$ kicked (he was upset that I ran out on him!), he offered me free lessons at the end of the night!

Deeman2
02-24-2005, 09:27 AM
Cheezeball,

Congratulations, the first one is always the hardest and, even then, they don't come that often. I bet he was surprised. You will also notice the biggest improvement to your game in nine ball will be safety play. One pocket players can just hold that cue ball better than others. Being able to stick it makes a lot of safeties childs play that the normal nine ballers just can't hit as well. IMO

Again, Congratulations...

Deeman

cheese_ball
02-24-2005, 09:37 AM