PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion to get my game up another level

RottingMindz
03-08-2005, 07:51 PM
I have been playing pool for about 5 months, and I am happily addicted. Recently I bought a new cue and decided that I want to be more serious. I want to start practicing and doing drills, and getting my game to another level, not just "playing" pool as in having fun with friends.
Right now, I do have a decent stroke (the cue through bottle thing is rather effortless), my aim is rather well also, be it tough cut shots, large angles, etc. However, there is a pretty bad consistency problem, oftentimes I make seemingly stupid mistakes and miss ridiculously. Some days I can run the table with ease, and some other days I have hard times making 2-ball runs, as if I forgot how to aim.
Position play is where I have the most problems, I do pay a lot of attention to positions, and I can do simple positioning involving follow, draw, and stop, however I'm not good with sidespins AT ALL. While I know the effects of side English on the CB, I do not know how to compensate my aim, or the effect of throw, deflection, etc.
If anyone has any suggestion on how I can improve and what kind of drills I can do, it would be a great help for me, thank you!
BTW, how is my progress judging from how long I have played?

JimS
03-08-2005, 08:08 PM
See a teacher before you go any further. It's the only thing that makes sense. Do it now and save yourself the pain of a slow learning curve trying to learn to play on your own. It's worth every cent you'll invest. Do it!

recoveryjones
03-09-2005, 12:51 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote JimS:</font><hr> See a teacher before you go any further. It's the only thing that makes sense. Do it now and save yourself the pain of a slow learning curve trying to learn to play on your own. It's worth every cent you'll invest. Do it! <hr /></blockquote>

Good advice Jim. Here's my suggestions:

1.Get proffesional instruction as soon as possible.