PDA

View Full Version : New cue, Tip Preparation?

highonchai
03-17-2005, 06:01 PM
Hi all, this is my first post, I am a novice pool player, and up until recently I have used cues supplied by the pool hall at which I play. I figure using the 'community cues' will help me figure out what i want in a cue, weight, tip style, etc... I just bought a cue today, just a cheapie to use during a community college pool class that im taking, and something that i can take to pool halls to avoid searching for the perfect, (and straight) cue. The tip seems to be shaped well already, but it also seems to be coated with a clear coat or varnish, probably to help keep the tip together. My question relates to how one should go about shaping, and preparing the cue tip for play? I know that the tip should be scuffed to hold chalk, but what procedure do i use to achieve this? And what else should i know about preparing my cue, especially the tip? Thanks a million!

BigRigTom
03-17-2005, 06:14 PM
You'll get lots of advice on this one so here's mine.
Get your self a little device called the " Ultimate Tip Tool (http://store.yahoo.com/bigrigtoystore/ultiptool.html) " It is great and it has instructions for use. As a novice you will probably want the tip shaped in the curve of a nickle and this tool allows for that...later you may want to increast the curve to that of a dime and it allows for that also. You can the burnish the edge to create that clean black look that helps distinquish the chalked tip from the ferrell.
Read the instructions and you'll learn something about the shaping and why you want it shaped a particular way.
Good luck and good shooting.

Troy
03-17-2005, 08:29 PM
Or you could save yourself $20 minimum by using a piece of 60 grit sandpaper cupped in the palm of your hand to remove the glaze and get the shape (radius) you prefer.