PDA

View Full Version : Is This Pool Table any good?

godlyone
03-22-2005, 07:07 PM
I am thinking of the minnesota fats MFT400
It looks like a nice table, and it is relatively inexpensive.
Anyone have any experience with it?
It's available in many places, but here is a link to it at modell's http://www.modells.com/product/index.jsp?productId=1419241&cp=726087

What is slate-core?
Is that just standard "slatron" [mfd type stuff?]
Or is it somewhat like a mix between the two?

Note: I am just a beginner, not a professional or anything, so I dont need a table that is too expensive.

Thanks.

Cueless Joey
03-22-2005, 08:09 PM
It's crap.
I suggest finding a used slate pool table for that price.

godlyone
03-22-2005, 08:55 PM
care to explain why?
Obviously its not as good as a slate, but why is it "crap" ?

I am not looking for a pro table..

ALSO:
Can you recommend a cheap begginer slate table? and the price?

Wally_in_Cincy
03-23-2005, 07:16 AM
joey's right it's crap whether you are a serious player or not..

find a used Kasson, Olhausen, or Brunswick for around $1000

Hell, if nothing else buy a used Valley or Dynamo or Diamond 7-foot bar table. It'll play a lot better than that.

SplinterHands
03-23-2005, 07:27 AM
Do what you want, but I would never buy anything like that. Whether or not you want a "Pro" table, you want one that will play good. Take Wally's advice and find a used slate table. You'll be happier in the long run.

BigRigTom
03-23-2005, 09:01 AM
Yep! Listen to these other guys! You won't be sorry. $850 is a cheap price for a pool table and I know what you're saying about not being a pro...I used to think that way. The MF table is a cool looking table in the picture and will probably look great when you get it all set up. It may even play decent for a while but if you are over 12 years old believe me you won't be happy playing on it after a little while.