PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting from bar table to 9ft. table?

Billy_Bob
03-29-2005, 09:30 AM
All we have around here is bar tables (small town). So that is what I have learned to play on.

A larger city in my area has a pool hall with 9ft. tables and I went to play in a tournament there. (They just started having these tournaments.) I really embarassed myself as I missed many shots. (I can count on one hand how many times I have played on a 9ft table.)

Anyway it was like I was a beginner pool player all over again. I was trying to make shots and leave position, but couldn't make the shots. (Especially long cut shots.)

I feel I need to start all over again with these tables. First learn to pocket balls, then work on leaving for next shot. It is as if I don't know where to aim to make any balls. BTW other bar table players I saw there were having the same trouble.

Any suggestions for adjusting to these tables, or do I need to just get a lot of time under my belt playing on them?

Deeman2
03-29-2005, 09:35 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Billy_Bob:</font><hr> All we have around here is bar tables (small town). So that is what I have learned to play on.

A larger city in my area has a pool hall with 9ft. tables and I went to play in a tournament there. (They just started having these tournaments.) I really embarassed myself as I missed many shots. (I can count on one hand how many times I have played on a 9ft table.)

Anyway it was like I was a beginner pool player all over again. I was trying to make shots and leave position, but couldn't make the shots. (Especially long cut shots.)

I feel I need to start all over again with these tables. First learn to pocket balls, then work on leaving for next shot. It is as if I don't know where to aim to make any balls. BTW other bar table players I saw there were having the same trouble.

Any suggestions for adjusting to these tables, or do I need to just get a lot of time under my belt playing on them?