PDA

View Full Version : Pool Cue Joint - Wood-to-wood or Steel-to-steel

Regulator
03-31-2005, 12:35 AM
Hi,

I'm just a beginner. I've been using the cheap 1-piece cues I got with my table (Beach w/Simonis) and I think it's time I bought a better cue.

I'm pretty far from deciding which $250 to $500 cue I'm going to buy, but does anyone have strong opinions on joint type?

Seems like most of them are steel. Is that due to the wear and tear that would hurt wood-to-wood over time?

I've hit a few woods and steels, and some of them feel different, but I'm not experienced enough to know good or bad.

Thanks for your help.

MrLucky
03-31-2005, 08:48 AM
wood to wood is my preference! and it is a preference!.... IMO the properly made wood to wood joint has more feel and a better hit, but it is all up to what you are used to and which feels better to you! /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Wally_in_Cincy
03-31-2005, 09:13 AM
If you look closely at the steel joint you will find it is often actually just a steel collar and inside that steel ring is a wood to wood facing between the shaft and butt. McDermott makes their cues like this.

Wally <~~ not an expert by any stretch, just trying to help.

JPB
03-31-2005, 11:42 AM
So would you rather have a Gina or Southwest? Perhaps unanswerable. Would you rather have a Southwest or a steel joint Lucasi? Southwest obviously. Hercek or wood to wood mcdermott? Obviously Hercek.

Too many variables to decide on a joint type only.

IMO the thing to do would be to buy a cheaper cue in your price range and keep looking for stuff you like. You will buy more cues anyway. So find a good cue in your price range. There are a million of them if you will spend 500. Custom cues too. If you get production get a 250 cue so you can buy more.