PDA

View Full Version : structure of practic sessions

yegon
04-04-2005, 07:29 AM
I am trying to write down a training plan for myself. As a relative beginner I have no problem finding a weakneses in my game, actually there are no strengths yet /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

So I have a lot of drills, patterns, stroke exercises to pick from for my sessions. I'd like your opinion on how to use them. I read on this forum that the instructors among you recommend shorter practice session so you are able to concentrate fully. I can think of two practice strategies:

1. work on 20 drills 5 minutes each (thats about 2 hours a day)

2. work on 4 drills 5 minutes each and then play straight pool or 9ball or whatever just to put some table time in

I am not sure if the 1st strategy is not too much and counterproductive

what do you think?

does anyone have an idea how an ideal practice session should look like?

Billy_Bob
04-04-2005, 08:01 AM
The thing which helped me the most when starting out was to keep track of shots I had trouble with or shots which were frustrating. Say an object ball frozen to the rail.

Then I would concentrate on practicing these shots.

Then after practicing shooting - say balls frozen to the rail for 2 months, I would start to get better at shooting these shots.

And that has worked for me for many different types of shots. Keep track of what I can't do, then concentrate on practicing those things, then improve after a few months of regular practice.

Over time, I had a practice sheet designed just for me!

This is the *most* frustrating practice you can do [since it is probably the last things you want to be practicing], but stick with it and you *will* improve.

I won game last night where my last shot was a ball frozen to the rail. Piece of cake for me now. But at one time I could not make these shots to save my life.