PDA

View Full Version : 8 Ball Rule Question- 8 by Carom okay?



Isshi
05-02-2005, 10:22 AM
The 8 was sitting between two stripes, and the only way it would reach the pocket would have been to carom it off one of those two stripes. At the time, the PH manager thought that was legal. At least I THINK that's what he was saying, in Japanese.

Looking at my BCA Rules book (2000 edition), it says, pg. 67, rule 4.18, Playing the 8-Ball:

Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball, except when the 8-ball is the first ball contacted in the shot sequence.

This must mean that a carom shot is a kind of 'combination shot', and that shooting the 8-ball off of one of the opponent's balls into a called pocket would be a legal shot, and a win.

Is that correct (by World Rules) ?

Curious, Isshi.

PS: I missed that carom, but later won the game.

Rod
05-02-2005, 10:27 AM
Yes it is legal. That rule book needs some amendments and attention to details.

Rod

Wally_in_Cincy
05-02-2005, 11:24 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Isshi:</font><hr>

... shooting the 8-ball off of one of the opponent's balls into a called pocket would be a legal shot, and a win.... <hr /></blockquote>

Yes, except in certain roadhouses and honky-tonks scattered throughout these here United States where it's always prudent to ask your opponent first.

Billy_Bob
05-02-2005, 01:13 PM
There is "call pocket" where so long as you say which pocket and hit the 8 ball first, it is good. It can hit every ball on the table and circle around 3 times, but so long as it goes into the pocket you called, it is good.

Then there is "bar call shot" where you must specify the details. Like 8 in the corner off the 2 ball. If it goes clean, you lose. If if goes off off the 3, you lose. If it goes off the 2 and the 3, you lose. Some players may even want you to specify if it is going to hit the cushion first or not. This kind of play is not good for tournaments because it causes too many arguments.

Nightstalker
05-03-2005, 11:57 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Billy_Bob:</font><hr>Then there is "bar call shot" where you must specify the details. Like 8 in the corner off the 2 ball. If it goes clean, you lose. If if goes off off the 3, you lose. If it goes off the 2 and the 3, you lose. Some players may even want you to specify if it is going to hit the cushion first or not. This kind of play is not good for tournaments because it causes too many arguments. <hr /></blockquote>

That kind of play is also reason for the creation of ball-in-hand type rules. Bar rules set up scenarios for all kinds of arguments. /ccboard/images/graemlins/crazy.gif