PDA

View Full Version : Beginner needs Tip Care Advice!

MacGyver
05-03-2005, 06:36 PM
Hello, I am a beginner pool player who is in college w/ many time to spend at the campus's free tables. The house cues are all terrible and curved due to policies in storing them, so I went and bought myself a $20 dollar cue(walmart), $10 case, $6 shaper, $10 tapper and $4 master chalk in order to make my game more constistant. After the initial $50 dollar investment, I am down to barely any more money and don't think I can afford any other tools to replace a tip, ect so I had a couple questions:

The tip on this cue is very terrible and miscue's often, and other better players with custom cues have also said that yes, this is a bad tip(it is also extremely hard).

So my question is how should you care for a bad tip?

I have the shaper and tapper and while it seems simple enough, I wonder if I am missing something.

I have shapped the cue to nickle size, and I am a bit afraid to ruin the tip with the tapper. Do you just pick at the tip with the tapper(I have a sharpe bunch of needles type one, not a flat kind - It is black and fits on a key chain like a tube of lipstick or something, I think it might be a tip pik shadow?)?

Should you put it on the top and tap it with something harder? How deep should you put the holes, how hard to hit it, ect ect.

On a bad tip, how often should you re-tap it?

Anything else to try to get it to miscue less often?(I have plenty of chaulk).

also:
The only local pool place I could find only does tip replacement through one of their customers(I think that you drop it off and he picks it up and takes it home and works on it there).

Does anyone know the average price for tip replacement or a good tip to put on a cheap cue?