PDA

View Full Version : Limitations of Upright Stance?

Thunderduck
05-06-2005, 01:52 AM
I'm still a beginner, but at the moment I'm most comfortable with a very upright stance... people who have seen me play compare my stance to Willie Mosconi because I'm so high above the cue. I've heard many comments about upright stances such as:

"Back then players used upright stances but to be competitive at modern pool you can't do that anymore, it's outdated."

"Players who use a very upright stance are forced to use only closed bridges, open bridges wont work."

"It's harder for an upright player to develop a good stroke."

Are any of these statements true? If I want to change to a lower stance in later years, will it be hard for me to switch over?

Thanks!

Tduck

aco76
05-06-2005, 05:36 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Thunderduck:</font><hr> "Back then players used upright stances but to be competitive at modern pool you can't do that anymore, it's outdated."
<hr /></blockquote>

I'm sure there are a few pro players who stand that way and are successful. Buddy Hall?

<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Thunderduck:</font><hr>
"Players who use a very upright stance are forced to use only closed bridges, open bridges wont work."
<hr /></blockquote>

They would work, but I think it would be more natural to use more closed bridges for upright stances. Don't have a proof for that, but all 3C players use closed bridges. In fact it's almost all they use, despite their shots being mostly topspin. Hopefully there are 3C players here who could explain it better.

"It's harder for an upright player to develop a good stroke."
<hr /></blockquote>