PDA

View Full Version : Who's who of cuemakers?

mdavis
05-09-2005, 02:46 PM
I'm trying to select a custom cue.
In doing so, I've discovered that there are a tremendous number of quality cuemakers. In my own mind, I've started to categorize them,

1. Best Players Cues
2. Best Collectors Cues
3. Longest waitlists (which you would think would correlate to #2)
4. Insiders cues
5. Best of the best, price no object
6. Best production cue
7. Best break cues

I'm looking for a cuemakers which may have the hit and construction as good as anyone. I'm personally looking for a players cue, not a collectors cue, but if there is a good players/collectors cue, that could be cool too.

Since I'm still learning, I'd hate to publish my foolish lists...But I'll do it anyway :-)

best Players cues
-----------------

best of the best hitting cues:
Southwest <--
ZYLR <--
Scruggs <--
Bender <--
Hagan Cue
Tad, before 1993

really good:
Layani
Omega/DPK
black boar
gilbert

good:
capone
jensen - mike johnson
raven
lucasi

hot cuemakers (probably correlates with waitlists??)
----------------------------------------------------
? - 2005
? - 2004
bluegrass - richard harris 2003
searing - 2002
? - 2001
lambros - 2000

best production:
pechauer
schon

insider cues -- those cues which are seeked out by the most sophisticated collectors, players
-----------
kersenbrock

best of the best / best collectors cues
---------------------------------------
kersenbrock (insider)
southwest
bill schick
joe gold
ernie gutierrez
danny tibbits
mottey
tascarella
ginacues
cognoscenti
tad
szamboti
joel hercek
josswest
black boar
balabushka - old
thomas wayne
Bill Stroud
D. Searing
richard black
mike bender

really good wood/wood cues:
---------------------------
schulers
lambros

longest waits
-------------
Hercek
mottey
southwest
bluegrass
Josswest
Shick

break cues:
-----------
sledgehammer
fury

Cues that are probably worth looking into (which may not have a category above yet):

Scruggs
Schulers
Shurtz
Bender