PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Dirty Balls?

MacGyver
05-12-2005, 11:59 PM
Only on a billiard forum is this a valid topic....

Anyway, I am currently a college student who plays mainly on school tables, and honestly we are a small college with a little budget and the balls have gotten extremely dirty and give huge amounts of throw not to mention they are just ugly to look at.

Getting a new set of balls is doubtful, and while they won't let me take balls out to play around with, I'm sure that if I cleaned/polished them in-house there wouldn't be any issues, and depending on cost I'd like to go ahead and try something.

Does anyone have any advice on how to clean up an old set of billiard balls? Type of cloth, what type of polisher, any extra steps, ect would all be appreciated.

Thanks for any help you guys could give!

catscradle
05-13-2005, 04:05 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote MacGyver:</font><hr> Only on a billiard forum is this a valid topic....

Anyway, I am currently a college student who plays mainly on school tables, and honestly we are a small college with a little budget and the balls have gotten extremely dirty and give huge amounts of throw not to mention they are just ugly to look at.

Getting a new set of balls is doubtful, and while they won't let me take balls out to play around with, I'm sure that if I cleaned/polished them in-house there wouldn't be any issues, and depending on cost I'd like to go ahead and try something.

Does anyone have any advice on how to clean up an old set of billiard balls? Type of cloth, what type of polisher, any extra steps, ect would all be appreciated.

<hr /></blockquote>

Grab an old cotton t-shirt, that'll do for the cloth just fine. You can buy specialized cleaner from aramith, but I think just any old liquid car cleaner/wax combination (like Turtle wax) would work fine. Others may disagree with the wax part of it, but thought I'd throw out my opinion.

SplinterHands
05-13-2005, 05:53 AM