PDA

View Full Version : Any disadvantage to a 12 mm tip ?

Snyder1
06-01-2005, 04:42 AM
I played with a 12mm tip for the first time last weekend & absolutely loved everything about it. I know the 13mm tip is so much more popular, just curious why this is so & what the disadvantages may be with the reduced diameter tip ? THx...

JS

Nightstalker
06-01-2005, 05:38 AM
I am no expert, but from what I understand.....

12mm = more spin, might feel more natural for small handed people, tends to magnify stroke flaws and may decrease accuracy especially with less experienced players

13mm = less spin, more accuracy for newer and lesser skilled players

Billy_Bob
06-01-2005, 08:14 AM
With a smaller shaft/tip, the tip will deform sooner and need re-shaping more often. And with having a 13mm shaft/tip, a dime radius will go down almost to the ferrule, so you can't re-shape it very often before needing to replace the tip. I settled for a happy medium at 12.5mm.

If you use a nickel radius, then 13mm would make for a longer lasting tip.

Try a 10mm dime shape. One hard shot and the end of the tip "squishes" in! (Not enough tip material surrounding to support it.)

Nightstalker
06-01-2005, 08:43 AM
I think he is talking more about the diameter of the tip rather than the radius of the crown of the tip.

Patrick
06-01-2005, 10:59 AM
The better player you become, the smaller tip you need (it needs to match your skill level). Pro level is 12.5-13mm, world class is 12-12.5mm. I use 11.8mm, I rather die than play with 12+mm tip.

bsmutz
06-01-2005, 11:17 AM