PDA

View Full Version : Viking cues ... your thoughts ?

Snyder1
06-17-2005, 04:37 AM
I've only been playing a couple years, so I have no wealth of knowledge. From what I've heard, Viking was real big in the '80's and sponsored alot of pro events. I presume this was before the Meucci and Joss came into their own ? What happened to Viking ... I'm sure they still make a good cue, but aren't nearly as popular as they once were ... thx.

JS

dg-in-centralpa
06-17-2005, 05:09 AM
I still think they are popular. They sponsor Dawn Hopkins and you'll see ads for them on televised tournaments. Now there are many more production cues to choose from than in the 80's. Find a dealer near you and try a few out.

DG

Leviathan
06-17-2005, 06:07 AM
Viking sponsors a first-class 9-ball tour. For info about the tour, go to http://www.vikingcue.com/9balltour.htm . Viking also makes an extensive line of butt-ugly cues of pretty good quality.

AS

SplinterHands
06-17-2005, 07:03 AM
Save yourself some grief and get a ZZ series Mezz. Best production cue on the market.

Fred Agnir
06-17-2005, 07:10 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Snyder1:</font><hr> I've only been playing a couple years, so I have no wealth of knowledge. From what I've heard, Viking was real big in the '80's and sponsored alot of pro events. I presume this was before the Meucci and Joss came into their own ? What happened to Viking ... I'm sure they still make a good cue, but aren't nearly as popular as they once were ... thx.

JS <hr /></blockquote>Meucci and Joss were very popular in the 80's as well. I'd venture to guess that Meucci was more popular than Viking.

Many people still purchase Viking cues, but with the onslaught of new production cues from the far east, the market that was once dominated by Viking, Meucci, &amp; McDermott has been greatly affected by Cuetec and others.

Fred

ryushen21
06-17-2005, 07:17 AM