PDA

View Full Version : plz help me select a cue within $80-$120

cool_guy
07-08-2005, 06:10 AM
Hi everyone, I am kinda new to this forum but I have been playing pool for quite some time now. I am tired of this wal-mart graphite cue which I have been using since last 2 years. Now I am looking for a cue within $80-$120 probably a used Lucasi, players or McDermott. Can I post some links from ebay over here to see what kinda opinion I get from you folks on the cue.

Billy_Bob
07-08-2005, 07:44 AM
If your main interest is what the cue looks like on the butt or the name of the cue maker, then go with what looks best to you or has the most impressive name written on it.

If however you are a serious player, then I would spend a lot of time trying out different weight cues (18oz 19oz, 20oz, etc.), different taper on shaft (euro taper, pro taper), wrap on butt or no wrap, cues with different diameter sizes at the tip (11mm, 12mm, 13mm, etc.), different joints,
http://www.predatorcues.com/english/jointtypes.htm
different brands of tips (Tiger, Moori, Le Pro, etc.), different hardness of tips (soft, medium, hard), and different tip radius (quarter, nickel, dime). Also be aware that there are low deflection shafts available...
https://www.platinumbilliards.com/rating_deflect.php

The decide on a certain specification of cue and stick with that. Also be aware that some cues come with a "weight bolt" and the weight can be changed somewhat. A few internet sites let you choose the exact cue you want or when ordering direct from a manufacturer, you can get a specific cue. Here is a sample of an internet site which lets you select the exact cue you want...
(Scroll down half way to custom order...)
http://www.billiardwarehouse.com/cues/viking/viking_vm40.htm

Regulator
07-08-2005, 11:18 AM
You might be able to get a new low end McDermott on eBay for $120 from a dealer - the best warranty in the business.