PDA

View Full Version : Buying a pool hall....HELP!!

scratchyyy
08-08-2005, 09:38 AM
Quick question for all of you veterans…to give a brief background, I have no business ownership experience, and currently have a very well paying job (upwards of 6 figures) and I am seriously considering quitting everything I know to open a pool hall. My question is, has anyone ever done this? if so, what can I expect? Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Knowing of course that location and advertisement etc will play a major roll in this figure Im curious mainly what kind of income I can expect. Also, does anyone have an idea of how these things are financed or how hard they are to get lending on? Thanks everyone in advance!

Billy_Bob
08-08-2005, 09:48 AM
Well I would certainly travel around first and look at different billiard rooms. See which ones are full of people every night. See what they are doing right. What other things they offer which draws in the people - is it food, drinks, video games, locations, whatever?

May want to check out the following chain...
http://www.clicks.com

cueball1950
08-08-2005, 10:12 AM
i would say forget it. to big a risk. you have to much to lose. there are pool halls closing up shop every day. and i think you will find it hard to get a bank to finance one. sorry to burst your buble. but i gotta tell it like i see it...................................mike

Rich R.
08-08-2005, 10:48 AM
I have never owned a pool room and I can only help you, from my own observations.

The most successful pool rooms I have been seeing are those that have a good food and bar business. They do not have to rely on the pool for their income. Most, but not all, support the major leagues, like the APA and BCA, because it brings in a lot of food and bar business during the weeknights, when things would normally be slow. Some also support dart leagues, which also bring in people for food and drinks.