PDA

View Full Version : New Cue New Feel!!!! Help

jerrodbottini
08-08-2005, 11:46 AM
Ok... so I just baught a new Bobby Hunter pool cue. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions what I should do to get used to this stick? I am used to playing with A steel jointed pool cue, and this cue has a wood to wood joint. I have been playing pool for about five years. If I was to describe my game it would be a five or six out of ten.
Thanks Jerrod
P.S The weight is 19.5 with a pro taper of 12.5.

killerstroke
08-08-2005, 02:39 PM
I believe the best advice is that you will need to learn the hit. Probably most important (as normal play should be) CENTER BALL!!!!!!

Fran Crimi
08-08-2005, 02:50 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote jerrodbottini:</font><hr> Ok... so I just baught a new Bobby Hunter pool cue. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions what I should do to get used to this stick? I am used to playing with A steel jointed pool cue, and this cue has a wood to wood joint. I have been playing pool for about five years. If I was to describe my game it would be a five or six out of ten.
Thanks Jerrod
P.S The weight is 19.5 with a pro taper of 12.5. <hr /></blockquote>

Wood to wood joints tend to feel a little firmer in the hit. You'll probably feel less vibration coming down the shaft. That should be the big difference. Loosen up your back hand to make the transition easier. I think once you get used to wood to wood, you'll really like it. They're great hitting cues.

Fran

jerrodbottini
08-08-2005, 05:49 PM
Oh I see.. What should I do to compinsate for the diffrence in throw and squirt. Also what can I do to practise for the diffrence in the hit?
Thanks Jerrod

TommyT
08-08-2005, 07:39 PM
Pocket balls. In 30 minutes you should be OK.
TommyT

Plummerbutt
08-08-2005, 09:59 PM
Losen your grip and start shooting balls. Forget about any english and just concetrate on contacting the center of the CB.