PDA

View Full Version : Felt/Cushion Replacement

cmoore
08-18-2005, 04:14 AM
Newbie here with an 8' Brunswick Table. The table is almost 7 years old and in need of new cushions and felt. Actually I can live with the felt for a while but one of my cushions is toast. I spoke with my local dealer a few days ago and was quoted almost 700.00 for replacement of the cloth and the cushions. I was a bit discouraged by the price. Has anyone on this forum tackled this job DIY at home? Thank you in advance for your help/suggestions. I apologize if this subject has already been covered.

mworkman
08-18-2005, 06:04 AM
I've done many tables and I reccommend you spend the time to learn how to do it yourself. You said your cushion was toast? What's wrong with it? Maybe it just needs to be re-glued. 7 years is too soon to have a cushion go bad. Unless you have soo much money that you don't know what to do with it, I wouldn't spend $700.00. You can get Simonis for an 8' table on ebay for about $160.00. I like Championship Tour Edition (24oz.) that you can get a little cheaper then that.

BLACKHEART
08-18-2005, 06:12 AM
1st of all, you made everyone here scream when you said the word "FELT". Felt goes under a table lamp, to keep it from scratching an end table & "CLOTH" goes on a pool table. The rubber on a Brunswick table should last at least 25 years. Are you sure the rubber has not come loose from the wooden rail. If so, they just need to be glued back into place & your good to go. By the way that's why you don't let anyone SIT, on the edge of a pool table. You can tell if the rubber is loose, because when a ball hits, it will be dead. Take the rail or rails off, that are bad & look at them, if it seems like too big of a job, take them into the dealers & have them reattach the ruber & put the SAME CLOTH BACK ON. If all of them were bad I'd say you're looking at a $100 bill...JER

cmoore
08-18-2005, 07:31 AM