PDA

View Full Version : Instructor?

9inthecorner
08-25-2005, 07:42 PM
So I have been reading this forum for quite some time and I think it's awesome. One thing I've noticed is that most people hear are very convinced that the only way to get really good at pool is with an instructor. Now I'm not great by any means, but I love pool as much as anyone, I play whenever I can, and I read a lot about the fundamentals, the strategies, and the physics of pool. What I have never done is get professional instructions, mostly because I'm a poor college student. What I'm wondering is What’s so great about pool instructors, (no offence to pool instructors in this site) Isn't the main thing a instructor does is make sure you're stoke is strait. After that, isn't a pool instructor just a practice motivator and strategist? After the first lesson can't you replace a expensive instructor with a good book and some discipline? and why can't you just get a really good pool player to tell you if you're shooting right, or buy one of those stroke trainers (those are a little spendy for me too). basically what I'm asking is if it is really that advantages to get personal instructions, and if so, why, and where can I get some at the lowest cost possible? Thank you for any feedback you can give me.

Cane
08-25-2005, 08:13 PM
First off, Welcome to CCB. Lots of great information here and many great pool players.