PDA

View Full Version : Straight pool: intentional fouls



Shaka
09-26-2005, 11:58 AM
Your opponent fouls and for strategic reasons you don't even want to move the cueball. What are you allowed to do, assuming you are not on any fouls?
Can you tap the cueball with your shaft, can you touch it with your hand, can you say go ahead to your partner even without doing anything?

Is it poor sportsmanship even at the high level to do those kinds of intentional fouls?

Fran Crimi
09-26-2005, 12:15 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Shaka:</font><hr> Your opponent fouls and for strategic reasons you don't even want to move the cueball. What are you allowed to do, assuming you are not on any fouls?
Can you tap the cueball with your shaft, can you touch it with your hand, can you say go ahead to your partner even without doing anything?

Is it poor sportsmanship even at the high level to do those kinds of intentional fouls? <hr /></blockquote>

You must touch the cue ball with the tip of your cue to assure that you only lose one point for the foul. If you intentionally touch it with anything else you lose 16 points. You can touch it with your cue tip without moving it. It's pretty easy to do. You can't not do anything and turn the table over to your opponent.

Taking intentional fouls is very much an accepted part of playing 14.1. It's not uncommon to see advanced players take an intentional foul. You'll even see them take 3 intentional fouls in a row, where they're willing to lose 18 points total, if they feel they're in a no-win situation and that their chances would be better in losing the points and executing an opening break.

Fran

Bob_Jewett
09-26-2005, 03:16 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Shaka:</font><hr> ...
Can you tap the cueball with your shaft, can you touch it with your hand, can you say go ahead to your partner even without doing anything? ... <hr /></blockquote>
You are only permitted to set the balls in motion by hitting the cue ball with a forward motion of the cue and using your chalked tip. If it were OK to take a foul by touching the cue ball with your hand, a good play would often be to pick the cue ball up and place it corner-hooked in a head pocket. Or maybe nestle it down in the middle of the rack, frozen to five or six balls.

As for not shooting at all, no, by the rules that is not permitted. You must shoot when it's your turn. You cannot pass. Please note that there may be some referees and tournament directors and opponents who permit a pass, but they should not. Lots of plsyers don't know how to take a foul without screwing up. You are not even allowed to pass at nine ball, giving up ball in hand. You have to apply tip to ball. (And at nine ball, there is nearly always some way to improve the position when you take a foul, even if it's only to move a ball to the middle of the end rail.)

astoriaqueensguy
10-09-2005, 07:34 PM
For what it's worth, Efren Reyes had this 15 point penalty called on him in the 2000 US Open. Efren was playing a safe against Dallas West, and touched a ball with the ferrule of his cue. Dallas called him on this, the referee checked the rule book, and Efren was assessed the 15 point penalty. It was pretty clear that while Efren may have been aware of the three-fouls-in-a-row rule, he had no idea that this other rule existed (neither did I, for that matter). For his part, Dallas was just trying to stay in the tournament - Efren had just run a 141 on him.

Earlier that day, Dallas had pointed out to the referee that John Schmidt's vest touched a ball during their match, and the referee called a foul. Dallas West is a threat to win any straight pool tournament, but his best moves that Saturday were not being caught sleeping while in the chair. DL

"I could have beaten those guys without them knowing a thing, but I just had to show them how beautiful the game can be when it's played right." - Fast Eddie

eat_sleep_pool
10-09-2005, 07:42 PM
how about 8 ball league. and you pass?

Bob_Jewett
10-10-2005, 09:30 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote eat_sleep_pool:</font><hr> how about 8 ball league. and you pass? <hr /></blockquote>
If there is a specific rule in the League Rules, then anything is possible. There are some leagues in which it is not permitted to play safe -- you must try to pocket one of your balls. I've played in such a league.

pooltchr
10-10-2005, 05:00 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr>you must try to pocket one of your balls. I've played in such a league. <hr /></blockquote>

Who decides if you tried??? Can you make it look like you tried and just get a "lucky roll". That league had to be a nightmare!!!
Steve

Bob_Jewett
10-10-2005, 05:12 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote pooltchr:</font><hr> <blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr>you must try to pocket one of your balls. I've played in such a league. <hr /></blockquote>

Who decides if you tried??? Can you make it look like you tried and just get a "lucky roll". That league had to be a nightmare!!!
Steve <hr /></blockquote>
There really wasn't a problem. The people who could play tried to play by the rule. There were some wily old hacks who thought they were pretty smart to sort of try to make a ball but leave it safe. They weren't good enough to run out if you did leave them a shot, and their safeties were usually pretty weak.