PDA

View Full Version : I need an aiming system!

Thunderduck
09-26-2005, 10:04 PM
Despite the cut shot drills Ive been working on for a few months, I cant figure out where to aim on most shots I come across in normal play. Imagining hitting through the center of a ghost ball just doesnt work for me.

Can someone point me to a thread or website with a simple and effective aiming system?

Tduck

Combinator
09-26-2005, 11:12 PM
For years I used a silhouette system -- viewing each shot like the moon passing in front of the sun and learning what angle the ball would travel when hit at each silhouette. I missed too much with 15 or greater degree shots. I've improved much by picking a point on the object ball and concentrating on hitting that point with the cue ball. After a while you don't even look at the pocket. Your percentage should go up with practice.

Thunderduck
09-26-2005, 11:34 PM
I tried to invent a system similar to what youre describing, but Im really never sure just what angle the OB will go... Im always wrong these days... I think "oh, I just need to hit it there and it will go in", and then I turn out to be wrong, usually by small margins...

Billy
09-27-2005, 12:43 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Thunderduck:</font><hr> Despite the cut shot drills Ive been working on for a few months, I cant figure out where to aim on most shots I come across in normal play. Imagining hitting through the center of a ghost ball just doesnt work for me.

Can someone point me to a thread or website with a simple and effective aiming system?

Tduck <hr /></blockquote>

Give Hal Houle a call - no harm in listening anyway

jmo

Leviathan
09-27-2005, 04:56 AM
I feel your pain! Let me make it worse by offering a couple of suggestions you won't like.