PDA

View Full Version : Radical idea, at least for me

Kato
06-20-2002, 09:25 AM
I started playing this maddening game about 7 years ago and have had to fight my way to teach myself everything I know (save Voodoo teachings of the Zen master). I don't have great natural talent, stroke, and I don't see ball patterns like alot of good players do. Don't get me wrong I'm ok but....................something is missing. I've found out new cues only work for a little while and financially it's not viable to buy a new cue just because I'm in ANOTHER slump.

Yesterday after work I was sitting in my living room rolling balls around the table and I noticed something............no spin. I learned that I don't know how to shoot balls without spin!!!!!!!

Like alot of people I fell in love with english the second I learned how to use it but forgot how to play in the center of the cue ball (if I ever knew how). I hit 2 racks of 3 foot shots with center ball last night before league and it was weird. It's like a whole part of the cue ball that I didn't remember existed!!!!! I'm scraping my game and starting over, I'm gonna learn how to play the right way, a better way, a fundamentally solid way.

I'm not sure what I trying to ask here but is there a good way to learn this? I'm thinking of just start shooting 5 or so racks of the same shot over and over, maybe varying speed per rack, maybe 4 shots per night. Over the course of the weeks and months ahead I should learn what the cue ball will do and how to hit shots without using English, this is better right? Maybe I'm just flipping out over nothing but how can there be an entire section of the ball that I don't use?

The wise Zen Master once told me (I think Moses told him) that the only thing english is good for is getting yourself out of trouble and........................putting yourself right back in.

Kato~~~wouldn't know what to do if I wasn't confused.

Doctor_D
06-20-2002, 09:32 AM
Good morning: