PDA

View Full Version : Origin of 8 Ball?

Bumps
10-17-2005, 02:14 PM
I've been trying to find some info on this for years and have come up empty.
Anyone have any information on the origins of 8 ball? I started playing it myself {and no longer play it} in the early '60s. Pretty sure it began in the early fifties or forties but I'm not sure.

Bob_Jewett
10-17-2005, 02:30 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bumps:</font><hr> I've been trying to find some info on this for years and have come up empty.
Anyone have any information on the origins of 8 ball? I started playing it myself {and no longer play it} in the early '60s. Pretty sure it began in the early fifties or forties but I'm not sure. <hr /></blockquote>
According to one of Mike Shamos's books or articles, 8 ball started around 1900. It is listed in the 1914 BBC Rule Book on page 45 as BBCCo Pocket Billiards. A copy of that rule book is available for free on the SFBA web site on the misc files page.

Bumps
10-17-2005, 02:33 PM
Thanks, Bob! Any thoughts on why or how the game was invented?

Bob_Jewett
10-17-2005, 02:38 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bumps:</font><hr> Thanks, Bob! Any thoughts on why or how the game was invented? <hr /></blockquote>
Well, in the 1914 version of the rules, it required a special set of balls. Maybe it was a BBCCo promotion scheme. Shamos is the one to ask.

Barbara
10-17-2005, 03:22 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr> Well, in the 1914 version of the rules, it required a special set of balls. Maybe it was a BBCCo promotion scheme. Shamos is the one to ask. <hr /></blockquote>

As opposed to Jesse Jackson's or Louis Farakkan's (sp?) idea that 8-ball was invented by the white man to discriminate against the black man in the US.

What an ignorant statement that was.

Yes, it used to be played with an entirely different set of balls.

Barbara

BooBoo
10-18-2005, 06:16 AM