PDA

View Full Version : falcon or mcdermott?

dazednconfused
11-08-2005, 08:18 PM
I'm a novice and and I play quite a bit. I'm looking for a new cue for $200 to $300 and I'm looking at falcon or mcdermott. Which is better?

sneakypapi
11-08-2005, 09:15 PM
They are both good cues, Falcon is Canadian and McDermott is American, sometimes that helps certain people make up their mind. Most Falcons are steel joint cues with a 5/16 x 14 thread. On the other hand, McDermotts have a few joint choices many of them being a plastic collar 3/8 x 10 pin, so you will have to see what type of hit you like. The price range you mentioned you can get a really nice plain wood cue or one with a few basic point designs, so you will have to see how fancy of a cue you will want.

MrLucky
11-09-2005, 11:23 AM
I have owned both Falcons and McDermotts! The wood to wood McDermotts are the best hitting cues for the money available IMO! /ccboard/images/graemlins/cool.gif

hondo
11-09-2005, 11:27 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote MrLucky:</font><hr> I have owned both Falcons and McDermotts! The wood to wood McDermotts are the best hitting cues for the money available IMO! /ccboard/images/graemlins/cool.gif <hr /></blockquote>

I bought a $935 MSRP new Mc Dermott Sierra on EBAY
for around $300 &amp; it hits as good as any custom
cue I have.

Rich R.
11-09-2005, 11:43 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote dazednconfused:</font><hr> I'm a novice and and I play quite a bit. I'm looking for a new cue for $200 to $300 and I'm looking at falcon or mcdermott. Which is better? <hr /></blockquote>
Choosing pool cues is a very personal thing. I may think one is better while the next guy may think the other one is better.
If possible, hit some balls with both.
The cue that feels best to you, is the better choice.

supergreenman
11-09-2005, 11:49 AM