PDA

View Full Version : drills for mechanics?

Cotton_Seed
12-09-2005, 06:32 PM
Hello everyone. Although I've been playing casually for about six years, I'm essentially a beginner, and I was wondering if you guys could suggest some drills to help with stroke mechanics. I'm interested in getting better, and I hear that mechanics is a good place to start.

thank you,
Cotton

Bob_Jewett
12-09-2005, 06:47 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Cotton_Seed:</font><hr> Hello everyone. Although I've been playing casually for about six years, I'm essentially a beginner, and I was wondering if you guys could suggest some drills to help with stroke mechanics. I'm interested in getting better, and I hear that mechanics is a good place to start.... <hr /></blockquote>
The problem is that it is very difficult to self-assess your mechanics. There are lots of standard basic drills that help to test for obvious flaws, but if you have picked up some bad habit, such as lifting your bridge hand before hitting the cue ball or a hundred other possible problems, and have practiced that bad habit, it will be hard or impossible for you to see it on your own. Can you video tape yourself while shooting?

About 20 basic drills are available for free in the Basics Clinic handout at http://www.sfbilliards.com If you get those drills, let us know how you do on the level 2 progressive practice drills (2A to 2D, page 9).

pooltchr
12-10-2005, 07:28 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr>
The problem is that it is very difficult to self-assess your mechanics. <hr /></blockquote>

Bob, I'm surprised to hear you say this. The first time I attended pool school, after 3 days, I had been given some very good tools for self-evaluation of my mechanics. I am able, for the most part, to know exactly what went wrong when I miss a shot. It's not that difficult, but you do need to know what to look for, and what it means when you see it.
Steve

Cane
12-10-2005, 08:32 AM