PDA

View Full Version : 8 Ball Rule Clarification



tdurden87
12-18-2005, 04:18 PM
Had this situation come up in a game:

Player A breaks and pockets a stripe and a solid but misses the following shot so the table is still open. Player B aims for and pockets another solid but the cue ball then caroms off the solid and makes a stripe in.

Is the table still open or is Player B assigned solids?

Bob_Jewett
12-18-2005, 04:41 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote tdurden87:</font><hr> Had this situation come up in a game:

Player A breaks and pockets a stripe and a solid but misses the following shot so the table is still open. Player B aims for and pockets another solid but the cue ball then caroms off the solid and makes a stripe in.

Is the table still open or is Player B assigned solids? <hr /></blockquote>
If you're playing in a league, check their rules, but most play that you get what you called and made.

Rich R.
12-18-2005, 08:11 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote tdurden87:</font><hr> Had this situation come up in a game:

Player A breaks and pockets a stripe and a solid but misses the following shot so the table is still open. Player B aims for and pockets another solid but the cue ball then caroms off the solid and makes a stripe in.

Is the table still open or is Player B assigned solids? <hr /></blockquote>
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr> If you're playing in a league, check their rules, but most play that you get what you called and made. <hr /></blockquote>
In the APA leagues, where you don't have to call your shot, I believe the table would still be open, in this situation.

KGeeED
12-19-2005, 07:10 AM
Usually it would be the group of balls first hit, that would be solids because you hit the solid ball first.

This is something that gives a chance for an argument if playing in a bar. You should clarify it first if you anticipate it happening. There are a lot of players in bars that are always looking for a chance to argue a shot.