PDA

View Full Version : Sealing and leveling my first slate table.

netsomnia2
12-27-2005, 10:48 AM
Hello Everyone,

I bought our first slate pool table as a family gift. Unfortunately, this Westwood pool table needs a lot of work. I think the table fream and supporting beams are worth $500 alone and that's what I paid for the whole table with slate, cues, cloth, clock, et cetera.

I am not a table mechanic by trade but I am stubborn (stupid?) enough to tackle most 'do-it-yourself' projects. The general public opinion in the newsgroups is that pool table leveling is not a 'do-it-yourself' project, however, I beg to differ because many home projects at the same level of difficulty have been tackled by the novice homeowner.

I leveled the three pieces of slate and tested with a ball to our satisfaction. The next step is to fill in chips and low spots on the table. One particular spot has the same characteristics as a farm pond in the Midwest. The ball actually does a few complete circles before resting in the center.

I thought to myself, "This is going to be fun!". Durham's website does not recommend rock hard water putty for surface repairs - they only recommend rock hard water putty for recessed area like a screw hole on a table.

Does this leave me with Bondo to fill the shallow 'pond' area? I can't see filling this with bees wax but if someone knows this will work with wax, I want to know the best way to shape the wax flat with the slate.

I look foward to all ideas and sharing of knowledge.

Cornerman
12-27-2005, 11:11 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote netsomnia2:</font><hr>