PDA

View Full Version : Tip Replacement Physics

Bassn7
12-28-2005, 04:37 PM
I've been replacing tips for 15 years, never a problem, until now. Putting a Moori Hard on a 12mm shaft. The tip lasts about 2 months and then off it goes. I don't think it's got anything to do with the glue, since I use the great Insta Flex Cyanoacrylate (Moori glue). I believe it has to do with the combination of the small glue area vs. the tip hardness. Tall hard tip on a small diameter = bad idea. All my other Morri tips 13 through 14 mm work great. What do you all think?

Cueless Joey
12-28-2005, 05:07 PM
Use Loctite 454 and your problem is solved.
Scratch the bottom of the tip with an 80-grit paper.
Put two glue rings on the face of the ferrule .

Big_Jon
12-28-2005, 08:25 PM
Follow Joey's advise, and also cut down the height.
Too tall of a tip on a skinny ferrule is just asking for it.

Cornerman
12-29-2005, 08:24 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bassn7:</font><hr> The tip lasts about 2 months and then off it goes. I don't think it's got anything to do with the glue, since I use the great Insta Flex Cyanoacrylate (Moori glue). I believe it has to do with the combination of the small glue area vs. the tip hardness. Tall hard tip on a small diameter = bad idea. All my other Morri tips 13 through 14 mm work great. What do you all think? <hr /></blockquote>Maybe your setup has gone bad?

Anyway, I do think that there is a height vs. diameter ratio (aspect ratio) that has to be considerd. Most tip installers will take off several layers on a Moori to keep it from being too tall. The taller it is, the more moment and possibly shear are at the glue line.

Fred

killerstroke
12-29-2005, 08:31 AM