View Full Version : Local "experts" on rules...

01-04-2006, 11:09 AM
A guy at my tournament informed me that with BCA 8-ball rules, you must hit the headball on the break for it to be a legal break.

So I went searching through the BCA rules to find this but found nothing. So far as I know, this is required for 9-ball, but not 8-ball. And for 8-ball it says pocket a ball or drive 4 balls to the rail to be legal.

Anyway after searching the rules, I asked the guy which rule said this, as I couldn't find it anywhere. He said "Oh I didn't read it, someone told me about this rule!"

Arrgggg! /ccboard/images/graemlins/confused.gif

01-04-2006, 11:23 AM
You do not have to hit the head ball first. Go to www.bca-pool.com. (http://www.bca-pool.com.) Click on the PLAY tab - GAME RULES - 8 BALL - Rule 4.5. Hope this helps.