PDA

View Full Version : Relocating to USA - advice for a beginner

BigMal
01-16-2006, 09:56 AM
Greetnigs all. I am a UK based pool and snooker player who will be relocating to the States (Las Vegas)in 2007.

I have played snooker and UK 8-ball(smaller table game) for around 20 years and at a reasonably high level and I do not want to give up on cue sports when I move over!

I need advice on taking up 9-ball and 8-ball as it is played in the States. I have played some 9-ball in the UK, but tables here are few and far between, so effectively I am a beginner. With my snooker background I don't have a problem making balls, but the tactical side of the game and positional play will be a challenge for me at first.

Firstly I need to know what kind of cue I should be looking at. Where are my dollars best spent? Do I need a separate break cue? How is the game structured at local level? Do pool halls run regular open competitions? Are there lots of weird and wonderful 'local' and 'house' rules (we have bizarre ones here)? Where should I play in Vegas?

If anyone of you can take the time to offer me some advice I would be most grateful and promise to buy you a drink once I move over.

JPB
01-16-2006, 10:25 AM
Couldn't get much more different than Las Vegas v. the UK. /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Las Vegas has some pool, I don't live there but have played just a bit there. I don't like bar pool, but I have heard las vegas has a lot of it. You will hear about that from guys who live there.