PDA

View Full Version : Getting Started with a new cue - Advice

NeZ
02-01-2006, 02:05 PM
I'm new to this site, just registered today. I've been playing in a pretty serious weekly game for about 4 years now.

I finally made the jump to getting my own cue just today. I ordered a McDermott MG-3. I'm hoping it'll be here next week.

I've got a few questions I'm hoping you all might be able to help out with regarding my new cue.

1) Is it okay to break with your main cue or should I use a house cue to break?

2) Do I need to do anything to the tip when I get the cue or can I use it straight out of the box?

2a)How long should I expect a tip to last? I play about 4 to 5 hours per week on average.

2b)Is it easy to change tips or should I have a professional do it? McDermott will do it for free if I pay the shipping there and back ($14.95 to ship it back to me.)

3) Are there any other things I should consider in terms of cue care or use?

Thanks.

Brian in VA
02-01-2006, 02:54 PM
Welcome to the board NeZ.

I'll try some of these; remember they are my opinion only, your mileage may vary. /ccboard/images/graemlins/grin.gif

1. It's absolutely okay to break with your cue. Whether you decide to do so or not depends on the tip you have and how hard it is, how hard you hit them. etc. Some folks have a different break cue because of various reasons. Mine is I prefer a heavier stick to break. You can't hurt the cue however.