PDA

View Full Version : Fouling



cf8ball
02-19-2006, 09:12 AM
Can anyone explain the "small gap" foul (double hit or push). Have you seen it called in tournaments? Has anyone ever lost a match because of a small gap foul?

Billy_Bob
02-19-2006, 11:45 AM
See the topic titled:
"rule about juding push shots in bca 8 ball"

http://www.billiardsdigest.com/ccboard/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=ccb&Number=218802&page=1&v iew=collapsed&sb=5&o=31&fpart=1

Bob_Jewett
02-19-2006, 11:49 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote cf8ball:</font><hr> Can anyone explain the "small gap" foul (double hit or push). Have you seen it called in tournaments? Has anyone ever lost a match because of a small gap foul? <hr /></blockquote>
It has been discussed many times in the various forums. Some articles from Billiards Digest about it are available at:

http://www.sfbilliards.com/articles/BD_articles.html

See the articles from 1993.

I've seen at least two tournaments come to a standstill because of the rule.

cf8ball
02-19-2006, 06:14 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote Bob_Jewett:</font><hr> <blockquote><font class="small">Quote cf8ball:</font><hr> Can anyone explain the "small gap" foul (double hit or push). Have you seen it called in tournaments? Has anyone ever lost a match because of a small gap foul? <hr /></blockquote>
It has been discussed many times in the various forums. Some articles from Billiards Digest about it are available at:

http://www.sfbilliards.com/articles/BD_articles.html

See the articles from 1993.

I've seen at least two tournaments come to a standstill because of the rule. <hr /></blockquote>
Thank you for replying Bob, I have read many of your articles and I certainly value your opinion. I've been playing pool for over 50 years now, and have lost one match because of this rule. I was told, by the referee, the only criteria necessary in determining whether or not a foul was committed is if the cueball enters inside the tangent line and travels at or greater than the speed of the object ball. I actually believe it was either one of your articles or something written by R. Byrnes that made mention of this foul too; I wish I had know about it previously. Even now though, most people do not know it exists.

Thanx to Billy_bob too!