PDA

View Full Version : What are the advantages to buying your own cue?

07-02-2002, 03:20 PM
What are the advantages to buying your own cue? Consistency? More english, draw, and follow? Is the improvement worth dishing out $200-$350? How much should a solid cue with minimum ornamentation cost?
Any answers are appreciated, thanks!

Cueless Joey
07-02-2002, 03:23 PM
I don't steal or borrow, so I buy 'em. LOL
Familiriaty and quality are my main reasons.

Q-guy
07-02-2002, 03:35 PM
To be really honest, your question it's self would suggest you may not be ready to invest too much in a cue at this time. Before you spend a good amount on a cue, or order a custom cue, you need to know what you like. If you are a complete beginner you may get a cue with very generic dimensions such as 19, to19 1/2 ounce and 13 mm, 58 inches. Most anyone would feel comfortable with a cue like this. As you become a better player you will want to experiment to find what is right for you. To tell you the truth, this process will take the rest of your life. To answer your question, there are many advantages to owning your cue. Most are obvious.

Michelle
07-03-2002, 04:29 PM
Because you can't play your best game with a crooked house cue that has an 11.35 mm tip from being replaced so many times, and feels like a chewed up pencil as you stroke it. /ccboard/images/icons/smile.gif

Really, the benefits of owning your own cue are many. You can take care of it and keep it straight. You know the quality of the wood and tip and ferrule are better than most house cues. You get to know how it feels and plays. You subconsciencely understand how it hits, where as every house cue is going to hit differently.

You do not need to spend $300 to start out with if you don't want to. $300 will get you a decent cue, and if you have played with a brand you like a lot, then by all means....but, if you are not sure, there are many cues in the $75-$150 range that are very good starter cues.