PDA

View Full Version : 8 Ball Rules



lococoyote
03-18-2006, 03:56 PM
I was playing a game of 8-Ball call shot, and I had a couple questions. First, my opponent scratched (didn't hit any of his balls). Do I HAVE to put my ball in the kitchen, or can I leave it as-is to take the shot?

Also, when I was trying to pocket the 8 ball, I missed and didn't hit it. Is that a loss?

PoolSharkAllen
03-19-2006, 12:37 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote lococoyote:</font><hr> I was playing a game of 8-Ball call shot, and I had a couple questions. First, my opponent scratched (didn't hit any of his balls). Do I HAVE to put my ball in the kitchen, or can I leave it as-is to take the shot?

Also, when I was trying to pocket the 8 ball, I missed and didn't hit it. Is that a loss? <hr /></blockquote>

Lococoyote: Using BCA rules, if your opponent scratched on the break, then the cue ball goes into the kitchen. Other than the break, when your opponent scratches, you get ball-in-hand.

When trying to pocket the 8-ball, if you don't hit the 8, than that is considered to be a foul and your opponent gets ball-in-hand.

I hope that helps! /ccboard/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Billy_Bob
03-19-2006, 08:01 AM
Billiard Congress of America (BCA) Rule Book...
http://www.poolndarts.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/Catalog.Category/categoryID/120.cfm

dr_dave
03-20-2006, 09:27 AM
FYI, there are links to a concise summary of the rules along with links to other official rules in the resources section of my website (http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/pool/resources.html).

Happy reading,
Dave
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote lococoyote:</font><hr> I was playing a game of 8-Ball call shot, and I had a couple questions. First, my opponent scratched (didn't hit any of his balls). Do I HAVE to put my ball in the kitchen, or can I leave it as-is to take the shot?

Also, when I was trying to pocket the 8 ball, I missed and didn't hit it. Is that a loss? <hr /></blockquote>