PDA

View Full Version : Two weeks, two ahas

bsmutz
03-20-2006, 11:44 AM
I've been playing pretty much every day for the past 2 years. During that time I've taken lessons and read everything I could find. I've been making steady progress. Last week, I started getting down even further on my shots while lining up and found that I can see the angles much better the more I bend over. It's not necessary on every shot, but works wonders on long shots & cut shots. Then last Friday, I found that during my warm up strokes if I took 3 or 4 strokes that were as identical as possible to the final stroke, that I increased my accuracy quite a bit. It's amazing to me that such subtle little tweaks can have such a huge impact. I used to not pay too much attention to the quality of my warm up strokes. I knew I wanted to do a few, but sometimes they were short little strokes, or a mix of short and long. Everything is finally coming together. I was actually able to play a halfway decent game of straight pool Saturday night! Just wanted to point out to newbies like me that small improvements to technique can make a large improvement in execution and again, that it can/does take years to fully understand the game and all its intricacies.

slow_roller
03-20-2006, 04:41 PM
Thanks for the reminder about those little things! I've recently decided to be more rigorous about those warm-up strokes: now I always take 3, not 2, not 14, but 3, with a brief pause before the 4th stroke, the actual delivery. That has helped with my rhythm and results. I'll try your suggestion of making the warm-ups as similar as possible to the final stroke. Getting down lower is also worth a try, but I don't bend as well as I used to!

jtlabs
03-21-2006, 08:18 AM
Happy to see that your game is finally coming together.