PDA

View Full Version : List of "Major" Tournaments

kevinkins
03-25-2006, 08:07 AM
Golf has 4 well known majors. I am new to following pool. Is there a list that someone can post. I get the feeling there are majors associated with 9 ball, 8 ball, 14.1 and snooker etc..

Kevin

Deeman3
03-25-2006, 08:41 AM
Kevin,

There are no official "majors" in pool. However, some tournaments are bigger than the others.

U.S Open

World Pool Championships

Derby City Calssic

and now, maybe, the King of the Hill

Perhaps everyone can comment on which ones they would include in a count of majors.

Deeman

Nostroke
03-25-2006, 09:47 AM
Some would add the BCA-Not sure I'd be one of them but it is a notch above most tournaments. Reno might be considered also.

McKinneyMiner
03-27-2006, 01:23 PM
I'm not sure about the other games, but for 9-ball I would say it is:

U.S. Open
World Pool Championships
Derby City Classic
Glass City Open

With the proliferation of regional tours in recent years the idea of a "major" tournament is kind of dying.

I guess the U.S. Open will always be "THE" major of 9-ball.

Fran Crimi
03-27-2006, 01:31 PM
Good question.

I was always under the impression that the majors offered more prize money than the other events. Is that true in golf and tennis or am I wrong about that? What else classifies a tournament as a major? Is there something different about the format?

Fran

McKinneyMiner
03-27-2006, 01:45 PM
Fran...

At least in golf the 4 majors are not the richest tournaments in the sport. They pay well, but are not the highest paying.

As for format I know that each of them is governed by a committee that dictates playing conditions, etc. In the case of the PGA it is the PGA, US Open - USGA, British Open - Royal and Ancient, Masters - Augusta National

Each one of these tournaments is also a closed field. You either have to be invited or qualify to enter.

Isn't the U.S. Open 9-Ball Championship an open event?