PDA

View Full Version : Phenolic fad...!

tjlmbklr
03-25-2006, 08:15 AM
Phenolic fad...!

Ok Phenolic is the sh*t I know this because I trust what my fellow posters say. This is why I am here, for advice. So, I know that the discussion of what is better "lighter or heavier for breaking" has been tossed around quite a bit so here, we go again. Well with the added power due to the Phenolic craze, can (should) a heavier cue be used as apposed to a lighter (for speed)? The reason I ask is I am still learning control, trust me I have had my share of mis-cues on the break, and I am aware that with the Phenolic tips it is imperative to get a controlled center ball hit on the break. I have always gone lighter on most of my break cue for speed. Now keep in mind I yet to experience Phenolic in all its glory; once again I trust all of your opinions. So I guess I'll get to the point I want as powerful of a break with little effort, and to be able to control the tips impact on the cue when I release. I have read previous post on all different types of break cues on the market and decided to go with a middle of the road (price wise) and found the FURY J/B is where I stand for my decision. Ebay has a ton for sale. I am not sure what weight to go with. Also keep in mind that in the past I have always done what I like to refer as " Cue demotion" when I buy a new playing cue I demote the old one to my Break cue and usually just have the local billiard shop put a hard leather tip on it. So as you can see I am looking forward to trying something different.

Any useful advice would be appreciated.

ceebee
03-25-2006, 09:46 AM
I'm not a fan of phenolic use on Break Cues, because there are some break shots that require some spin on the Cue Ball. I'm not a fan of Jump/Break Cues either, because I like specific tools for specific jobs.