PDA

View Full Version : Only playing better players is path to improvement

Billy_Bob
04-12-2006, 11:52 AM
If there was ever a "secret" to becoming a better player, this is it folks!

I've been exposed to some very good players and they have told me to *only* play the best players I can find. And don't play the worst players because they will drag you down*.

*Note: This is as a general rule. I can and do of course play lesser skilled players every once and a while for fun or to help them improve their playing.

Well I have been doing this for several months and have noticed something interesting. My standards are now higher! What I consider to be good playing on my part is now at a new higher level.

Other players will tell me "good shot" or that I am playing great, but I'm thinking I'm playing lousy. I'm thinking that if I were playing one of the best players, I would have lost with the way I am playing and that my playing is not acceptable.

And I have noticed this with the best players. They will win a tournament, yet be disgusted with the way they have been playing. And prior to several months ago, I thought they were nuts. Jeeze they just won the tournament and they are not happy with their playing? I wish I could play so well!

Anyway it seems the reason they feel they are not shooting up to par is because of the really great players they play elsewhere. The matches we don't see.

So I now feel the path to improving is by losing. If at all possible, play the players who can beat you every time. Lose, lose, lose. You will get tired of losing and do something about it! Then one day you will win a game against this player. Then suddenly find that your standards are higher.

The opposite of this is players who always want to win. They always play lesser skilled players so they can win every time. They win, win, win. But they don't improve.