PDA

View Full Version : Over Saturated In Practice

Sid_Vicious
07-06-2002, 06:33 AM
I sometimes find that the game of pool works best when it is allowed to work basically by itself. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not talking about the zone. What I mean is that this obsession to "perfect" oneself draws hints and techniques from outside sources, books, videos, remembered fundamentals that used to fix things, and yes, this board. The "killer shortstops" I've known seem to "just play" the game and they do not hang onto advice and instruction, like they became self taught and their game is special. I am beginning to admit to myself that I too am an over-studier of this game, and remember vividly some grand instances of my game where nothing I ever learned from a book or saw on a video came to my aid, I just played.

I have made a personal decision to back away from saturating myself in the game when it comes to both learning and practicing. I think people need to find the time when they are basically finished being a student and begin to be the player. It's my firm belief that we probably think and study way too much...sid~~~is taking the summer off from organized pool as a first start

Doctor_D
07-06-2002, 06:41 AM
Good morning:

As with any type and/or level of learnig, the mind and the body need time to process and digest all the new informatioin which has been obtained. Scheduled, as well as unscheduled, vacation days are essential to the learnibg process.

Dr. D.

Tom_In_Cincy
07-06-2002, 06:43 AM
Sid,
A good book about the mental side of competing, is "Golf is not a game of Perfect"
It covers just about all the issues you have stated and more.

While you are taking a break from all the info that is 'saturating', please take some time to read this wonderful book about golf and the stories about the golfters.

Sid_Vicious
07-06-2002, 07:06 AM