PDA

View Full Version : Must questions for a potential instructor?

recoveryjones
04-19-2006, 10:03 PM
I'm seriously considering investing some cash for some pool lessons.
What are some crucial questions a student should ask a teacher before putting up the cash for a package of lessons?Thanks RJ

Billy
04-19-2006, 11:57 PM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote recoveryjones:</font><hr> I'm seriously considering investing some cash for some pool lessons.
What are some crucial questions a student should ask a teacher before putting up the cash for a package of lessons?Thanks RJ <hr /></blockquote>

too many of today's 'instructors' can tell you the basics of stance, grip, etc, etc but how many can show how to actually play the game. My first question, if not a total beginner, 'what's your background in actual competition'. and don't believe everything thing you hear, make them show you. talk is cheap and can be very expensive if they've never gone to war

jmo

Rich R.
04-20-2006, 02:53 AM
<blockquote><font class="small">Quote recoveryjones:</font><hr> I'm seriously considering investing some cash for some pool lessons.
What are some crucial questions a student should ask a teacher before putting up the cash for a package of lessons?Thanks RJ <hr /></blockquote>
I'm not certain you can find out what you want to know by asking questions. IMHO, the most important thing for a good student teacher relationship is communication. The teacher has to be able to explain something clearly and the student has to be able to understand what the teacher is trying to say. Also, some personality issues come into play.
The best way to find out if you can work with an instructor is to take a lesson or two and determine if you can work with that instructor. Do this, before committing to a package of lessons.

randyg
04-20-2006, 05:04 AM
RJ: Email me personally at

goettlicher@comcast.net